Ordalin
Submit a tool

Tab vs Instinct

Both are personal AI agents you text, both use a computer of their own to run errands, and both are still gated with no published prices. They differ in how you reach them, how they handle money and what happens to your data. Facts from Tab's and Instinct's own pages, checked October 28, 2026.

Checked 2026-10-28
11 official sources
Quick verdict

Price and access won't decide it: neither publishes prices and both gate new users. Pick Tab if you live in iMessage or WhatsApp and want every payment approved first; pick Instinct if you'd rather call your agent than text it, or want it working inside Google Workspace.

Pick Tab if
  • You want to text your agent in iMessage or WhatsApp, with the same memory in both.
  • You want to approve the exact merchant, items, total and recipient before anything is paid.
  • You want it to call a hotel, doctor's office or vendor for you and wait on hold.
Pick Instinct if
  • You want to call your agent, not only text it.
  • Your mail, calendar and files are in Google Workspace, which Instinct connects to.
  • You're fine opting out of model training yourself in settings.

Specs side by side

Official sources only
TTab
IInstinct
Maker
Terrasoft, Inc.
Instinct (founder Noah Shinn)
Launched
2026-10-06 (private beta)
2026-08 (invite-only)
Free tier
Not stated
Not stated
Paid plans
Not stated
Not stated
Plan needed
Not stated
Not stated
Where you use it
iMessage, WhatsApp, Phone calls
SMS, Phone calls
Availability
Not stated
Not stated
How it runs
Hosted service; you text it, and it works on its own computer and browser with the accounts you connect
Not stated
What it can do
works from its own computer and browser: research, scheduling, filling forms, turning files into spreadsheets, editing or creating images, audio and video; places phone calls to hotels, doctor's offices, restaurants and vendors, waits on hold and reports back; buys things, books reservations and pays invoices after you approve; tracks orders and deliveries
uses a phone and computer the way a person does: disputing bills, sending gifts, ordering groceries, scheduling doctor's appointments, planning trips; can make purchases on connected services with the payment method you provide
Asks before acting
Nothing is paid until you approve the exact merchant, items, total and recipient; a checkout is bound to those terms and stops instead of retrying if anything changes or the outcome is unclear. Cards are added through a private link to a separate vault, never in Messages; saved passwords are encrypted with AES-256-GCM and the planning AI only sees a reference. Connected-app write actions are denied unless explicitly enabled. Wallet and checkout are limited beta features
Terms say Instinct may add confirmation requirements or other controls on certain actions but does not promise they prevent mistakes; actions may not be reversible and you remain responsible for them. Payment details and passwords you share let it act for you; a Vault feature keeps materials out of model training
Training on your data
The privacy policy does not say whether your data is used to train AI models. Tab says it does not sell personal information. Information is shared with service providers such as hosting, messaging and calling, browser automation and payment services
Content and usage data may be used to train AI models unless you opt out at app.instinct.com/settings; safety-flagged material can still be used after opt-out. Vault materials and Google Workspace data are never used for training. Shared with third-party AI model providers
Model
Not stated
Third-party large language models; providers not named

“Not stated” means the maker’s pages don’t say — not that the feature is missing.

Access and price

Neither is fully open, and neither publishes prices.

Tab labels itself a private beta with a waitlist you join with your mobile number. Its terms say joining doesn't guarantee access, timing or pricing. A September 10, 2026 entry on Tab's updates page says sign-up is faster and new people get their Tab within a couple of minutes.

Instinct's terms describe a waitlist that sends a welcome text when your spot opens. They say some features may require fees, charged in U.S. dollars, but no plans or amounts are listed.

Both require you to be 18 or older. Neither publishes a list of supported countries.

Bottom line: you can't compare prices yet. Check both sign-up pages.

How you reach them

Tab lives in your messaging app. At sign-up you pick Messages (iMessage) or WhatsApp, and you can add the other later; it's the same Tab with the same memory. On WhatsApp it takes photos, videos, voice notes, documents and stickers, and each group chat gets its own Tab.

Instinct says you can text or call it. Its site, terms and privacy policy don't name iMessage or WhatsApp, so treat text as its channel unless Instinct says otherwise.

Bottom line: Tab if you want WhatsApp or iMessage; Instinct if you want to talk to it on the phone.

What each can do

Both work on a computer of their own, so neither needs a new app on your phone.

Tab has its own computer and browser. It researches, fills forms, turns files into spreadsheets, and edits or creates images, audio and video. It calls hotels, doctor's offices, restaurants and vendors, waits on hold for up to an hour and reports what was agreed. It places orders, books reservations, pays invoices and tracks deliveries afterwards.

Instinct uses a phone and computer the way a person does. Its examples are ordering groceries, sending flowers, booking a train, scheduling doctor's appointments and disputing bills. If you link Google Workspace, it works with Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs, Sheets, Slides and Tasks.

Bottom line: Tab spells out its phone-call errands; Instinct goes deeper into Google Workspace.

Payments and safety

Tab shows you what it's buying, the total and who gets paid, and nothing is paid until you approve. The checkout is bound to those exact terms; if anything changes, it stops. Cards go through a private link that expires after 10 minutes into a separate vault, never through the chat. Saved passwords are encrypted with AES-256-GCM, and write actions in connected apps are denied unless you approve them. Wallet and automated checkout are a limited beta.

Instinct buys on other services with the payment method you give it, and you are the buyer. Its terms say it may add confirmation requirements on certain actions, but don't promise they prevent unintended actions. Actions may not be reversible, and you're responsible for what it does for you.

Privacy and training

This is the clearest written difference.

Instinct trains on your data by default. Its privacy policy says your information may be used to train its AI models unless you opt out at app.instinct.com/settings. Opting out applies going forward, and material flagged for safety review can still be used. Vault materials and Google Workspace data are never used for training. Information is shared with third-party AI model providers that support the service.

Tab's privacy policy doesn't say. The policy, effective September 2, 2026, says Tab processes your messages to complete your requests and does not sell personal information, but it has no statement on model training either way. You can ask Tab for access to or deletion of your information.

For more on each, see the Tab and Instinct profiles, or the best AI personal assistants.

Keep comparing

FAQ

Is Tab or Instinct available now?

Both gate new users. Tab's site labels it a private beta with a waitlist, and its terms say joining does not guarantee access, timing or pricing; a September 10, 2026 update says sign-up is faster and new people get their Tab within minutes. Instinct's terms describe a waitlist that sends a welcome text when your spot becomes available. Both require you to be 18 or older.

How much do Tab and Instinct cost?

Neither has published prices. Tab's terms say the waitlist does not guarantee pricing. Instinct's terms say some features may require fees, charged in U.S. dollars, but list no plans or amounts.

Do Tab and Instinct work on WhatsApp and iMessage?

Tab does: you choose Messages or WhatsApp at sign-up, can add the other later, and it is the same Tab with the same memory; tab.bot/wa opens a WhatsApp chat with it. Instinct says you can text or call it, but its site, terms and privacy policy don't name iMessage or WhatsApp.

Can Tab and Instinct make phone calls?

Tab places calls for you: it rings hotels, doctor's offices, restaurants and vendors, can wait on hold for up to an hour and reports back what was agreed. Tab doesn't say you can call it. Instinct is the one you can call; it says it uses a phone and computer the way you do, but doesn't describe calling businesses in detail.

Will they spend my money without asking?

Tab says no: you see what it's buying, the total and who gets paid, and nothing is paid until you approve; the checkout is bound to those exact terms. Its wallet and automated checkout are a limited beta. Instinct's terms say it may add confirmation requirements on certain actions but don't promise they prevent mistakes, actions may not be reversible, and you are responsible for what it does for you.

Do Tab or Instinct train AI models on my data?

Instinct: yes, by default. Its privacy policy says your information may train its AI models unless you opt out at app.instinct.com/settings, safety-flagged material can still be used after opting out, and Vault materials and Google Workspace data are never used. Tab's privacy policy (effective September 2, 2026) doesn't say either way; it says Tab does not sell personal information.

Sources

  1. tab.bottab.bot/ ↗
  2. tab.bottab.bot/security ↗
  3. tab.bottab.bot/privacy ↗
  4. tab.bottab.bot/terms ↗
  5. tab.bottab.bot/updates ↗
  6. tab.bottab.bot/wa ↗
  7. techcrunch.comtechcrunch.com/2026/10/07/another-personal-ai-assistant-has-launched-meet-tab-which-emerged-from-stealth-with-a-300m-valuation/ ↗
  8. instinct.cominstinct.com/ ↗
  9. instinct.cominstinct.com/terms ↗
  10. instinct.cominstinct.com/privacy-policy ↗
  11. techcrunch.comtechcrunch.com/2026/09/28/viral-ai-agent-instinct-raises-1b-series-c-at-a-10b-valuation/ ↗