Ordalin
Submit a tool

Turnstone vs Hermes Agent

Both are free agents that run on AI you bring yourself, keep a memory and work on a schedule. They differ in who they're built for: Turnstone is a no-setup Mac app, Hermes Agent is open-source software you install and run anywhere. Facts from Turnstone's and Nous Research's own pages and docs, checked November 7, 2026.

Checked 2026-11-07
17 official sources
Quick verdict

Pick Turnstone if you're on a Mac, want no terminal at all and pay for Claude Pro, which Hermes can't sign in with. Pick Hermes Agent if you need Windows, Linux or a server, want to message your agent from Telegram or WhatsApp, want it running around the clock today, or want code you can read.

Pick Turnstone if
  • You use a Mac and want an app you sign into, with no installer script, terminal or server.
  • You pay for Claude Pro or another Claude plan with Claude Code and want Agents to use that plan; Hermes needs Claude Max with extra usage credits or an API key.
  • You want one shared memory, organized into About You, People, Timeline and Work, that you can open and edit in the app.
  • You want a team of named Agents set up for you by a Chief of Staff, each with its own model and permission level.
Pick Hermes Agent if
  • You're on Windows or Linux, or want the agent on a VPS, GPU box or serverless backend instead of your laptop.
  • You want to talk to it from Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal or email.
  • You need it running while your computer is off now: Hermes Cloud and self-hosting work today, Turnstone Cloud is still a waitlist.
  • You want open-source (MIT) code you can audit, modify and self-host.

Specs side by side

Official sources only
TTurnstone
HHermes Agent
Maker
Crow Inc.
Nous Research
Launched
Not stated
Not stated
Free tier
Yes — the Mac app is free with no card and no Turnstone usage meter; model use counts against the AI plan or API key you connect
Yes — free, open-source software (MIT); model and hosting costs depend on what you connect
Paid plans
  • Cloud add-on: $49/mo (Coming soon (waitlist); keeps Agents running with your Mac closed; first month free for the first 1,000 people)
None
Plan needed
Free tier
Free tier
Where you use it
macOS, iOS (coming soon), Web (coming soon)
macOS, Windows, Linux, Android (Termux), Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal, Email, CLI
Availability
Not stated
Not stated
How it runs
Runs on your Mac using the provider's own tooling (Codex for ChatGPT, Claude Code for Claude) signed in with your account; Schedules run only while Turnstone is open. Turnstone Cloud, for Agents that keep working with the Mac closed, is coming soon
Self-hosted on your computer, a VPS, a GPU cluster or serverless, with terminal backends including local, Docker, SSH, Modal, Daytona and Vercel Sandbox; desktop apps for macOS and Windows and native Windows support; or an always-on Hermes Cloud agent hosted by Nous
What it can do
a Chief of Staff Agent sets up one persistent Agent per job; Agents write and send email, Slack messages and iMessages from your own accounts, work in their own browser tab and on your Mac's apps, run Schedules, hand tasks to each other and propose reusable Skills you review before saving
creates and improves reusable skills from experience; keeps persistent memory; natural-language scheduled automations; parallel subagents; web search, browser automation, vision, image generation and text-to-speech
Asks before acting
Each Agent is set to Read only, Ask first or Always Allow; sensitive connected-app actions may still need review. Replies drafted in your voice wait for you to send; new Schedules and Skills show a review card before they are saved
Dangerous shell commands need explicit approval (configurable modes, including auto-approve for cron and unattended runs); DM pairing and allowlists control who can talk to the agent; container isolation
Training on your data
Prompts go from your Mac to the provider you chose under your own account, not through Turnstone's servers, and Turnstone says it never receives them, so it cannot train on them. The Brain memory, files and API keys stay on your Mac. Connected-app sign-in runs through Composio
Depends on the model provider you connect. Nous Portal's privacy policy lets you turn on Privacy Mode to opt out of storage and use of certain inference payloads for training
Model
any you connect — ChatGPT (via Codex), Claude (via Claude Code), Gemini, Grok, Cursor, OpenRouter, OpenAI or Anthropic API keys, or local Ollama models
any — Nous Portal, OpenRouter, OpenAI or a custom endpoint

“Not stated” means the maker’s pages don’t say — not that the feature is missing.

Price

Both apps cost nothing. What you pay for is the AI underneath.

Turnstone is free on the Mac with no card. It sells no credits and adds no meter: use counts against the ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok or Cursor plan you sign in with, or you pay the provider per use with an API key. The one paid product, Turnstone Cloud at $49 a month, is still a waitlist; Turnstone says the first 1,000 people get their first month free. A "Turnstone AI" option for people without a subscription is mentioned with no price.

Hermes Agent is free, MIT-licensed software. You can bring your own provider, or use Nous Portal: a free tier with free models, then Plus at $20, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200 a month, which bundle 300+ models plus web search, image generation, text-to-speech and a cloud browser. Hermes Cloud hosts an always-on agent, billed per day of uptime (storage only when stopped) with inference on top; deploying needs $2 in credit or an active subscription.

Bottom line: both are free to start. Turnstone is cheaper to reason about if you already have a plan; Hermes gives you more ways to pay, including hosting today.

Using the AI plan you already pay for

This is the question most people searching the pair are asking, and the answer depends on which plan you have.

Your planTurnstoneHermes Agent
ChatGPTYes, through OpenAI's Codex app and loginYes, ChatGPT OAuth with Codex models
Claude ProYes, through Claude CodeNo; use a pay-per-token API key instead
Claude MaxYes, through Claude CodeOnly extra usage credits; the base allowance is never used
GrokYes, your Grok accountYes, SuperGrok or X Premium+ sign-in
GeminiYes, your Gemini accountAPI key or Google Vertex AI
Local modelsOllamaOllama, LM Studio, llama.cpp, vLLM and others

Hermes also connects to dozens of other providers and OpenRouter. Turnstone covers fewer, but each one is a sign-in rather than a key.

Where it runs

Turnstone is a Mac app for Apple silicon and Intel. It runs Agents on your Mac with each provider's own tooling, and its Schedules run only while the app is open. Turnstone Cloud, an iPhone app and a web app are coming soon; Windows, Linux and Android aren't available.

Hermes Agent runs almost anywhere: desktop packages for macOS and Windows, a one-line installer for Linux, macOS and WSL2, native Windows through PowerShell, and Android through Termux. It can also live on a $5 VPS, a GPU cluster or a serverless backend that hibernates when idle, or on Hermes Cloud.

Bottom line: if you're not on a Mac, or want an agent that's on all night, Hermes is the only one of the two that does it today.

How you talk to it

Turnstone is an app with a sidebar of named Agents. Your first Agent, the Chief of Staff, sets up one per job, and any Agent can hand work to another. Agents work across 60+ built-in apps such as Gmail, Outlook, Slack, Notion, LinkedIn, iMessage and WhatsApp, their own browser tab and the apps on your Mac, and they can send email, Slack messages and iMessages from your own accounts.

Hermes Agent has a full terminal interface and a desktop app, and one gateway process puts it in Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal and email, with voice memo transcription. It can spawn isolated subagents to work in parallel.

Memory and skills

Both remember you, and both turn repeated work into reusable skills.

Turnstone's Brain is one memory shared by all Agents, stored as plain files on your Mac and organized into areas such as About You, People, Timeline and Work. You can browse and edit it in the app. An Agent may propose a Skill after repeatable work; nothing is saved until you review it.

Hermes keeps two small files, MEMORY.md (about 2,200 characters of its own notes) and USER.md (about 1,375 characters about you), and searches past sessions when it needs more. Its headline feature is a learning loop: it creates skills on its own after complex tasks and improves them as it uses them, in a format compatible with the agentskills.io standard. Memory plugins such as Honcho and Mem0 add more.

Bottom line: Turnstone's memory is easier to see and correct; Hermes does more on its own.

Safety and privacy

Approvals. Turnstone sets a permission level per Agent: Read only, Ask first or Always Allow, with some sensitive connected-app actions still reviewed. New Schedules and Skills show a review card first. Hermes asks before running a shell command that matches its list of dangerous patterns; approval modes are configurable, and scheduled or unattended runs can auto-approve. Allowlists and DM pairing control who can message it, and container backends add isolation.

Data. Turnstone says your prompts go from your Mac straight to your chosen provider under your account, never through its servers, and that your Brain, files and API keys stay on your Mac; connected apps are authorized through Composio. Hermes is self-hosted, so your data goes wherever you run it and to the provider you pick; Nous Portal offers a Privacy Mode that opts out of storing and training on certain inference data.

Code. Hermes Agent's code is public under the MIT license. Turnstone's isn't.

Who makes them

Turnstone comes from Crow Inc. in San Francisco, founded by Aryan Vij and Jai Bhatia in Y Combinator's Winter 2026 batch; it says its funding was led by Y Combinator and others, without an amount. Hermes Agent is built by Nous Research and ships frequent releases on GitHub. Turnstone also publishes its own comparison with Hermes; this one draws on both makers' documentation rather than either side's pitch.

Keep comparing

FAQ

Is Turnstone or Hermes Agent free?

Both. The Turnstone Mac app is free and adds no usage meter; Hermes Agent is free, open-source software. In both cases you pay for the AI you connect. The optional extras differ: Turnstone Cloud is announced at $49 a month but not available yet, while Nous Portal (Free, $20, $100 or $200 a month) bundles models and tools for Hermes, and Hermes Cloud bills an always-on agent by the day plus inference.

Can I use my ChatGPT or Claude subscription with them?

ChatGPT works with both: Turnstone through OpenAI's Codex app and login, Hermes through ChatGPT OAuth with Codex models. Claude is where they split. Turnstone runs through Claude Code on your own Claude plan. Hermes' docs say Claude Pro can't use its sign-in path at all, and Claude Max works only with purchased extra usage credits, never the plan's base allowance; otherwise you use a pay-per-token Anthropic API key.

Is Turnstone open source like Hermes Agent?

No. Hermes Agent is MIT-licensed, with its code on GitHub. Turnstone doesn't publish its source code, its site and docs link no GitHub repository, and its terms bar attempts to reverse-engineer the service.

Do they work on Windows?

Hermes Agent does: native Windows is supported through a PowerShell installer or a signed desktop package, alongside macOS, Linux, WSL2 and Android through Termux. Turnstone is Mac only; iPhone and web apps are listed as coming soon, and Windows, Linux and Android are not available.

Which one keeps working when my computer is off?

Today, only Hermes. You can run it on a server or deploy an always-on agent on Hermes Cloud. Turnstone's Schedules run only while the app is open on your Mac; Turnstone Cloud, which keeps Agents working with the Mac closed, is coming soon at $49 a month.

Which is safer to let loose on my accounts?

They control risk differently. Turnstone gives each Agent a permission level (Read only, Ask first or Always Allow) and holds drafted replies for you to send. Hermes checks shell commands against a list of dangerous patterns and asks before running a match, with modes that can auto-approve for unattended runs, plus allowlists for who can message it and container isolation. Neither profile here comes from hands-on testing.

Sources

  1. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/ ↗
  2. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/facts ↗
  3. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/plan ↗
  4. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/privacy ↗
  5. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/terms ↗
  6. myturnstone.aimyturnstone.ai/about ↗
  7. docs.myturnstone.aidocs.myturnstone.ai/controls/permissions ↗
  8. docs.myturnstone.aidocs.myturnstone.ai/concepts/brain ↗
  9. docs.myturnstone.aidocs.myturnstone.ai/concepts/automations ↗
  10. docs.myturnstone.aidocs.myturnstone.ai/concepts/skills ↗
  11. hermes-agent.nousresearch.comhermes-agent.nousresearch.com/ ↗
  12. github.comgithub.com/nousresearch/hermes-agent ↗
  13. hermes-agent.nousresearch.comhermes-agent.nousresearch.com/docs/user-guide/security ↗
  14. portal.nousresearch.comportal.nousresearch.com/cloud ↗
  15. portal.nousresearch.comportal.nousresearch.com/business ↗
  16. portal.nousresearch.comportal.nousresearch.com/privacy ↗
  17. hermes-agent.nousresearch.comhermes-agent.nousresearch.com/docs/integrations/providers ↗